Metra http://wuis.org en Inspector General Finds Old Metra Practice Could Lead To Fatigued Conductors http://wuis.org/post/inspector-general-finds-old-metra-practice-could-lead-fatigued-conductors <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>Officials at Chicago area rail transit agency Metra are being reprimanded for allowing workers to switch shifts without properly filling out paperwork. Illinois' inspector general says this practice could have led to fatigued conductors operating trains.</p><p></p> Tue, 29 Jul 2014 00:34:21 +0000 Hannah Meisel 30217 at http://wuis.org Inspector General Finds Old Metra Practice Could Lead To Fatigued Conductors Listen to State Week - July 11, 2014 http://wuis.org/post/listen-state-week-july-11-2014 <p></p><p>More details are emerging on the Illinois Inspector General's probe into political hiring at Metra.&nbsp; Also, a call for further investigation into Governor Quinn's Neighborhood Recovery Initiative.</p><p></p><p></p> Fri, 11 Jul 2014 19:27:02 +0000 Bob Meyer 29088 at http://wuis.org Listen to State Week - July 11, 2014 State Defends Hiring After Madigan Referral http://wuis.org/post/state-defends-hiring-after-madigan-referral <p>Gov. Pat Quinn&#39;s administration says there should be no doubt about the qualifications of a former Metra transit employee hired by the state after a referral by Illinois House Speaker Michael Madigan. &nbsp;<br />Central Management Services spokesman Mike Claffey&nbsp; says Patrick Ward worked for 25 years in Chicago&#39;s personnel department and has a master&#39;s degree with an emphasis in labor relations. &nbsp; Wed, 16 Oct 2013 20:48:20 +0000 Associated Press 11065 at http://wuis.org State Defends Hiring After Madigan Referral Metra Panel To Meet In Chicago http://wuis.org/post/metra-panel-meet-chicago <p>A state panel charged with coming up with reforms for Metra and other Illinois public transit agencies is set to have a second public hearing.<br>&nbsp;<br>The Northeastern Illinois Public Transit Task Force meets Wednesday in downtown Chicago.<br>&nbsp;<br>Gov. Pat Quinn formed the group in August after allegations about political hiring at Metra. He's called for an overhaul of the commuter rail agency, PACE and other transit agencies.<br>&nbsp; Wed, 25 Sep 2013 11:33:48 +0000 Associated Press 9612 at http://wuis.org Metra Panel To Meet In Chicago Quinn Appoints Panel To Investigate Metra http://wuis.org/post/quinn-appoints-panel-investigate-metra <p>Gov. Pat Quinn has appointed a 15-member independent panel including former U.S. Attorney Patrick Fitzgerald to investigate fraud and overhaul Chicago-area public transportation. &nbsp;<br>The move follows allegations of political hiring at Metra and calls for change at its overseeing board, the Regional Transportation Authority. &nbsp;<br>The Chicago Democrat issued an executive order Thursday creating the Northeastern Illinois Public Transit Task Force. Quinn previewed the idea last week. &nbsp; Thu, 15 Aug 2013 16:26:46 +0000 Sean Crawford 7345 at http://wuis.org Quinn Appoints Panel To Investigate Metra Ethics Panel Votes To Investigate Madigan's Metra Role http://wuis.org/post/ethics-panel-votes-investigate-madigans-metra-role <p></p><p>House Speaker Michael Madigan's request to be investigated by the Legislative Ethics Commission is being granted.</p> Fri, 26 Jul 2013 17:26:50 +0000 Associated Press 6341 at http://wuis.org Ethics Panel Votes To Investigate Madigan's Metra Role Metra Could Hire Former Federal Prosecutor For Buyout Probe http://wuis.org/post/metra-could-hire-former-federal-prosecutor-buyout-probe <p>Metra is considering hiring a former assistant U.S. attorney to investigate allegations that prominent politicians pressured staff in personnel and contract decisions.</p><p>The public agency's board of directors will vote Monday on whether to approve hiring Patrick Collins, who prosecuted the case that sent former Gov. George Ryan to prison for corruption.</p><p>The allegations involving Metra emerged during inquiries into a lucrative buyout for former CEO Alex Clifford.</p> Fri, 19 Jul 2013 15:23:38 +0000 Associated Press 5988 at http://wuis.org Metra Could Hire Former Federal Prosecutor For Buyout Probe Ousted Metra CEO: Madigan's Actions Show "Moral And Ethical Flaw" http://wuis.org/post/ousted-metra-ceo-madigans-actions-show-moral-and-ethical-flaw <p></p> Thu, 18 Jul 2013 13:23:34 +0000 Associated Press 5922 at http://wuis.org Ousted Metra CEO: Madigan's Actions Show "Moral And Ethical Flaw" Metra CEO Memo Reveals More Madigan Involvement http://wuis.org/post/metra-ceo-memo-reveals-more-madigan-involvement <p>A memo by the former CEO of the Metra commuter rail service contends that Illinois House Speaker Mike Madigan lobbied not only for a pay raise for an associate at the agency, but also sought employment for another person.</p><p>The memo by Alex Clifford was cited Thursday at a contentious legislative committee hearing on Clifford's resignation and a $718,000 separation agreement.</p><p>Clifford says in the memo that he was told before his ouster that he had damaged Metra and its future funding "by my refusal to accede to Speaker Madigan's requests."</p> Fri, 12 Jul 2013 22:57:26 +0000 The Associated Press 5670 at http://wuis.org Metra CEO Memo Reveals More Madigan Involvement