Bob Hill http://wuis.org en School Officials Call Potential Cuts 'Devastating' http://wuis.org/post/school-officials-call-potential-cuts-devastating <p>As the state legislature threatens additional cuts to local schools, education officials are firing back. Some say taking more money away from students would be morally reprehensible.</p> Tue, 11 Mar 2014 19:36:52 +0000 Rachel Otwell & Associated Press 20635 at http://wuis.org School Officials Call Potential Cuts 'Devastating' Budget Talk: Bob Hill On Challenges Facing District 186 http://wuis.org/post/budget-talk-bob-hill-challenges-facing-district-186 <p>Dozens of District 186 employees will be without a job come the end of the school year. A week ago the interim superintendent, Bob Hill, suggested cutting teaching jobs at all levels. On Tuesday he came to the board with further cuts, including in technology and special education.&nbsp;</p> Thu, 06 Mar 2014 20:24:03 +0000 Rachel Otwell 20309 at http://wuis.org Budget Talk: Bob Hill On Challenges Facing District 186 Dist. 186 Will Look At Additional Cuts To Budget http://wuis.org/post/dist-186-will-look-additional-cuts-budget <p>As Springfield public schools look to save around $5 million dollars, jobs and programs are on the chopping block. And yet, some say even those cuts would not save enough.&nbsp;</p> Tue, 25 Feb 2014 22:31:28 +0000 Rachel Otwell 19703 at http://wuis.org Dist. 186 Will Look At Additional Cuts To Budget District 186 Moves Up Vaccination Deadline http://wuis.org/post/district-186-moves-vaccination-deadline <p>Springfield District 186 plans to give parents and students a shorter deadline for immunizations and physicals next school year. They'll have to be completed by the 10th day of school, which means around the end of August. That's much sooner than this year's mid-October deadline. Around 500 students failed to comply and some were out of school for up to 3 weeks.</p> Wed, 19 Feb 2014 15:30:34 +0000 Rachel Otwell 19268 at http://wuis.org District 186 Moves Up Vaccination Deadline Parents Angry School Stayed Open, District 186 Responds http://wuis.org/post/parents-angry-school-stayed-open-district-186-responds <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Monday's ice storm didn’t stop Springfield public schools from holding classes. But it also meant many school buses were late to pick up students. Parents complained of students waiting up to 45 minutes in the cold and freezing rain as buses maneuvered the slick roads. Many took to the <a href="https://www.facebook.com/District186">district’s Facebook page</a> to hurl insults about the decision to keep school open.</span></p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 15:24:25 +0000 Rachel Otwell 19191 at http://wuis.org Parents Angry School Stayed Open, District 186 Responds District 186 Considers Tax Referendum Possibilities http://wuis.org/post/district-186-considers-tax-referendum-possibilities <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">Springfield's district 186 is struggling to fill a 5 million dollar gap in the budget for the coming school year. A group of parents and community members say they have an answer to supplementing the district's budget: raise property taxes. But passing a referendum will prove challenging. And if it's going to happen, some say efforts to get the word out need to ramp up now.&nbsp;</span></p> Mon, 10 Feb 2014 17:05:07 +0000 Rachel Otwell 18670 at http://wuis.org District 186 Considers Tax Referendum Possibilities District 186 Still Negotiating With Gill http://wuis.org/post/district-186-still-negotiating-gill <p style="font:12px/normal Helvetica;font-size-adjust:none;font-stretch:normal;"><span style="letter-spacing:0px;">Jennifer Gill was chosen as the new superintendent for Springfield District 186 after a months-long search. But negotiations have yet to be finalized.&nbsp;&nbsp;&nbsp;Gill, who currently works for McLean County schools, says the holidays slowed talks, but expects a contract will get done.</span></p> Tue, 07 Jan 2014 15:17:54 +0000 Rachel Otwell 16444 at http://wuis.org District 186 Still Negotiating With Gill