Anastasia Tsioulcas http://wuis.org en America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. http://wuis.org/post/americas-youth-orchestra-hits-road-time-playing-us <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7AvzsibovU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9k4SqNnb9A</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 15:01:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 29771 at http://wuis.org America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game http://wuis.org/post/how-three-tenors-sang-hits-and-changed-game <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HcGoY4COi-I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNQeKvVPPlc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXQGyYy-oZI</p> Wed, 16 Jul 2014 12:29:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 29384 at http://wuis.org How The 3 Tenors Sang The Hits And Changed The Game After 36 Years, A Trumpeter Sounds His Last Note In New York http://wuis.org/post/after-36-years-trumpeter-sounds-his-last-note-new-york <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cWZoejVZnzc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGLw9wC1bEE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aVRSI6-MMiQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bVcnjIr2Ugo</p> Thu, 03 Jul 2014 15:53:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 28531 at http://wuis.org After 36 Years, A Trumpeter Sounds His Last Note In New York What Happens When 350 Musicians Meet For The First Time In Brooklyn? http://wuis.org/post/what-happens-when-350-musicians-meet-first-time-brooklyn We at NPR Music leave a lot of variables out in the wild when we make Field Recordings. That's especially true when we commission new music for the annual Make Music New York festival, as we have for three years.<p>Since we're not using a traditional stage and people are roaming around, we don't know exactly what the performance will sound like (though we're lucky to work with fantastic engineering colleagues). Wed, 02 Jul 2014 13:59:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 28451 at http://wuis.org What Happens When 350 Musicians Meet For The First Time In Brooklyn? Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear In June http://wuis.org/post/latitudes-international-music-you-must-hear-june <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HkMNOlYcpHg</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WIKqgE4BwAY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ublchJYzhao</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YhcQoe68d80</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hV5AJPXYczg</p> Thu, 26 Jun 2014 18:25:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 28095 at http://wuis.org Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear In June What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola http://wuis.org/post/whats-worth-45-million-or-more-one-viola <em>Update Wednesday, June 25, 2014: A representative from Sotheby's tells NPR that the instrument did not sell "at this time." </em><p>Wednesday, Sotheby's auction house plans to announce the sale of a rare viola made by Antonio Stradivari. The <em>minimum</em> bid is $45 million. If it sells, it will be the most expensive instrument of any kind in history.<p>Here's an old musician joke: How do you keep your violin from getting stolen? Put it in a viola case.<p>The viola has long played second fiddle to its far more popular, higher-pitched sibling, the violin. Tue, 24 Jun 2014 17:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 27920 at http://wuis.org What's Worth $45 Million — Or More? One Viola Making Joyful Noise At Make Music New York 2014 http://wuis.org/post/making-joyful-noise-make-music-new-york-2014 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6nPzc3fAiWs</p> Sun, 22 Jun 2014 18:12:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 27783 at http://wuis.org Making Joyful Noise At Make Music New York 2014 A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts http://wuis.org/post/rhythm-thats-waltzed-away-hearts <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Ek3eCbfqp0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xCFEk6Y8TmM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zEfp_ZeiT0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9YZpng2PL34</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DjnhGwxQkFk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_GWaNt9pPQM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZD_ZzubDxs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i_X9Plz0zc4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4k1RjZ-SOLU</p> Wed, 18 Jun 2014 07:23:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 27471 at http://wuis.org A Rhythm That Has Waltzed Away With Hearts On A Magical Mystery Tour With Hassan Hakmoun http://wuis.org/post/magical-mystery-tour-hassan-hakmoun When we plan <a href="http://www.npr.org/series/144918893/field-recordings" target="_blank">Field Recordings</a>, we usually look far and wide to find off-the-beaten-path locations for filming musicians. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 17:07:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 27016 at http://wuis.org On A Magical Mystery Tour With Hassan Hakmoun Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 http://wuis.org/post/rafael-fruhbeck-de-burgos-versatile-spanish-conductor-dies-80 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMALVK_I8hE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlZ3FmBzbo4</p> Wed, 11 Jun 2014 16:44:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 27012 at http://wuis.org Rafael Fruhbeck De Burgos, Versatile Spanish Conductor, Dies At 80 Coffee And Mambo With Sergio Mendoza Y La Orkesta http://wuis.org/post/coffee-and-mambo-sergio-mendoza-y-la-orkesta Many of us at NPR Music fell hard for Arizona's Sergio Mendoza and his band La Orkesta <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/01/09/261088479/sergio-mendoza-y-la-orkesta-globalfest-2014" target="_blank">this year.</a> Together, they mix myriad Latin styles — what Mendoza calls "indie mambo," salted with generous handfuls of cumbia, merengue and ranchera — and then feed all that through a psychedelic prism. Wed, 04 Jun 2014 13:57:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 26556 at http://wuis.org Coffee And Mambo With Sergio Mendoza Y La Orkesta What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music http://wuis.org/post/what-weeks-debate-have-shown-us-about-women-classical-music An astonishing conversation has emerged in the weeks since Irish mezzo-soprano Tara Erraught began her run as Octavian at the Glyndebourne Festival in England. Tue, 03 Jun 2014 21:06:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 26527 at http://wuis.org What Weeks Of Debate Have Shown Us About Women In Classical Music Latitudes: The International Music You Need To Hear Now http://wuis.org/post/latitudes-international-music-you-need-hear-now <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BAkqJT_sMKQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIzHiZ8lZrs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rPiUHhQ_xXs</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2rmDUvronPQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QUBvVTNRp4Q</p> Thu, 29 May 2014 16:56:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 26183 at http://wuis.org Latitudes: The International Music You Need To Hear Now Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech http://wuis.org/post/read-joyce-didonatos-inspiring-juilliard-commencement-speech Star mezzo-soprano <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/16004057/joyce-didonato" target="_blank">Joyce DiDonato</a> gave the 2014 commencement address at Juilliard Friday — and it's a memorable one, both for her words and by DiDonato's own example as someone whose own career began under low heat.<p>DiDonato has <a href="http://www.joycedidonato.com/2014/05/27/the-juilliard-schools-109th-commencement-speech-joyce-didonato/" target="_blank">posted</a> the text of her speech on her own website, and it's well worth 10 minutes of your time, whether you're an aspiring artist or need a gentle reminder Wed, 28 May 2014 16:04:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 26083 at http://wuis.org Read Joyce DiDonato's Inspiring Juilliard Commencement Speech First Listen: Gabriel Kahane, 'The Ambassador' http://wuis.org/post/first-listen-gabriel-kahane-ambassador Composer and singer-songwriter <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/142514755/gabriel-kahane-tiny-desk-concert" target="_blank"> Gabriel Kahane</a> says that the inspiration for his new album,<em> The Ambassador</em>, is 10 buildings in Los Angeles — appropriate, given what a gifted musical architect he is.<p><em>The Ambassador</em> is structured as a set of 10 vignettes, each a meditation on life in the City of Angels (as well as its many demons). The narrative of each song is located at a particular L.A. Mon, 26 May 2014 03:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 25897 at http://wuis.org First Listen: Gabriel Kahane, 'The Ambassador' NPR Music Wants You To Play In A Massive World Premiere http://wuis.org/post/npr-music-wants-you-play-massive-world-premiere Sometimes we like to turn things up really loud, especially in the summertime. So for this year's edition of <a href="http://makemusicny.org/" target="_blank">Make Music New York</a>, we commissioned <a href="http://www.sunnyjain.com/" target="_blank">Sunny Jain</a>, founder of <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/146811792/red-baraat" target="_blank">Red Baraat</a>, to write a new song that would kick off the season in massive, marching-band style. Thu, 22 May 2014 15:24:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 25673 at http://wuis.org NPR Music Wants You To Play In A Massive World Premiere In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women http://wuis.org/post/2014-classical-world-still-cant-stop-fat-shaming-women <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XPquOVVEwws</p> Tue, 20 May 2014 16:57:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 25528 at http://wuis.org In 2014, The Classical World Still Can't Stop Fat-Shaming Women Does Accepting A Rose Mean Losing A Career? http://wuis.org/post/does-accepting-rose-mean-losing-career <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eEWAHLK6cqM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d9QQjrVT3PE</p> Mon, 19 May 2014 17:23:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 25444 at http://wuis.org Does Accepting A Rose Mean Losing A Career? First Listen: Seun Kuti & Egypt 80, 'A Long Way To The Beginning' http://wuis.org/post/first-listen-seun-kuti-egypt-80-long-way-beginning Here's the starting point for the story of Seun Kuti: He's the youngest son of Afrobeat pioneer <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/99085139/fela-kuti" target="_blank">Fela Kuti</a>. Mon, 19 May 2014 03:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 25402 at http://wuis.org First Listen: Seun Kuti & Egypt 80, 'A Long Way To The Beginning' Come Make Some Noise With Us In Brooklyn On June 21st! http://wuis.org/post/come-make-some-noise-us-brooklyn-june-21st <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0kQD1P0_KUs</p> Thu, 15 May 2014 17:53:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 25190 at http://wuis.org Come Make Some Noise With Us In Brooklyn On June 21st! Watch Bang On A Can Occupy 'Arthur' http://wuis.org/post/watch-bang-can-occupy-arthur <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RXQnML0JwY</p> Fri, 09 May 2014 14:17:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 24747 at http://wuis.org Watch Bang On A Can Occupy 'Arthur' Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found http://wuis.org/post/midspring-surprise-lost-mendelssohn-song-found <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f-tb_m8SD04</p> Tue, 06 May 2014 14:59:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 24524 at http://wuis.org Midspring Surprise: Lost Mendelssohn Song Found Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear http://wuis.org/post/latitudes-international-music-you-must-hear <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H7rhMqTQ4WI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zUxfgSdYNN4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TpaQYSd75Ak</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFECQq9meXQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uZ-_HIoEBE8</p> Wed, 30 Apr 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 24101 at http://wuis.org Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear Classical Quartet Gets All Twisted http://wuis.org/post/classical-quartet-gets-all-twisted <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKezUd_xw20</p> Thu, 17 Apr 2014 18:32:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 23209 at http://wuis.org Classical Quartet Gets All Twisted How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) http://wuis.org/post/how-do-you-sweep-ivy-league-practice-viola-really By now, you may have <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/04/01/297879597/new-york-student-is-accepted-to-all-8-ivy-league-schools" target="_blank">heard</a> about Kwasi Enin, the impressive young man from Long Island who has been accepted into the classes of 2018 at Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, the University of Pennsylvania, Yale (all eight Ivy League universities) as well as Duke and three campuses of the State University of New York. Thu, 03 Apr 2014 15:14:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 22226 at http://wuis.org How Do You Sweep The Ivy League? Practice — The Viola. (Really.) Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear Now http://wuis.org/post/latitudes-international-music-you-must-hear-now-0 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8fGcf3GODKE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cprez2G15LI</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KFBKcl4CD0</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zyRCkO1o6hY</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O8UVv1ludZ8</p> Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:45:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 22003 at http://wuis.org Latitudes: International Music You Must Hear Now The Kronos Quartet: Still Daring After All These Years http://wuis.org/post/kronos-quartet-still-daring-after-all-these-years Kronos Quartet is celebrating 40 years of playing music together — and to mark the occasion, they're playing a celebration concert at Carnegie Hall in New York tomorrow night. Since their founding, the San Francisco-based string quartet has become one of the most visible ensembles in classical music. The players have done it by championing new and underheard music, and by coming up with a business model that was unheard of for a chamber group four decades ago.<p>Violinist David Harrington dreamed up the idea of a string quartet devoted primarily to contemporary music in 1973. Thu, 27 Mar 2014 07:01:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 21719 at http://wuis.org The Kronos Quartet: Still Daring After All These Years A Field Recording Bonus Track: The Silk Road Swings http://wuis.org/post/field-recording-bonus-track-silk-road-swings We had so much fun taping cellist Yo-Yo Ma and the Silk Road Ensemble's <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/294345739/yo-yo-ma-and-the-silk-road-ensemble-horse-around-in-brooklyn" target="_blank">Field Recording</a>, we couldn't stop at just one selection, so we recorded the group's four talented percussionists in a deep groove.<p>They're playing a piece written by Shane Shanahan called <em>Saidi Swing</em>. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 21653 at http://wuis.org A Field Recording Bonus Track: The Silk Road Swings Welcome To Yo-Yo's Playhouse http://wuis.org/post/welcome-yo-yos-playhouse When you're lucky enough to have cellist <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15995808/yo-yo-ma" target="_blank">Yo-Yo Ma</a> and members of the <a href="http://www.npr.org/event/music/144696932/the-silk-road-ensemble-globalfest-2012" target="_blank">Silk Road Ensemble</a>, some of the world's premiere instrumentalists and composers, gather for an afternoon of offstage music making, you've got to think long and hard about where to put them. Wed, 26 Mar 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 21651 at http://wuis.org Welcome To Yo-Yo's Playhouse Kronos Quartet At 40: Songs We Love http://wuis.org/post/kronos-quartet-40-songs-we-love <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1E4Bjt_zVJc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BzvWiG5Lpzc</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ANkFMjEEnJ4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OVA0oX-bqog</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2wnOJFuMKDE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GUlMyYuEyXw</p> Tue, 25 Mar 2014 12:58:00 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas & Alex Ambrose 21573 at http://wuis.org Kronos Quartet At 40: Songs We Love