Neda Ulaby http://wuis.org en NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://wuis.org/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:48:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 23011 at http://wuis.org Coming Out In Basketball: How Brittney Griner Found 'A Place Of Peace' http://wuis.org/post/coming-out-basketball-how-brittney-griner-found-place-peace Brittney Griner is 23 years old, 6 feet 8 inches tall and one of the best female basketball players in the world. She was the WNBA top draft pick last year, and in college she set records for the most blocked shots in a season and the most career blocks in history — for male <em>and</em> female players. She's so good that the owner of a men's team — the Dallas Mavericks — has said he'd recruit her.<p>Now, Griner is also an author. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 18:45:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 22558 at http://wuis.org Coming Out In Basketball: How Brittney Griner Found 'A Place Of Peace' Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 http://wuis.org/post/dance-music-legend-frankie-knuckles-dies-59 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPrGnh7QUDo</p> Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:01:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 22093 at http://wuis.org Dance Music Legend Frankie Knuckles Dies At 59 This Year, Biblical Films Are Fruitful And Multiplying http://wuis.org/post/year-biblical-films-are-fruitful-and-multiplying There's a flood of biblical proportions this year in Hollywood: <em>Noah,</em> starring Russell Crowe, floats into theaters Thursday. It follows <em>Son of God, </em>another Bible-based movie released by 20th Century Fox. And later in 2014, we'll see <em>Exodus,</em> a 3-D epic based on the story of Moses from director Ridley Scott.<p>Why so many Bible movies in 2014? "It just has to be that God is moving. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 07:23:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 21800 at http://wuis.org This Year, Biblical Films Are Fruitful And Multiplying From Action Hero To Teenage Nerd, Shailene Woodley Has Range http://wuis.org/post/action-hero-teenage-nerd-shailene-woodley-has-range "I'm sorry you have to see my pancake face."<p>Those are among Shailene Woodley's first words as she opens the door to a suite in the Beverly Wilshire Hotel. She's got a publicists' luncheon later in the day — otherwise, she explains, under <em>absolutely no condition </em>would she have worn makeup for an interview.<p>Woodley is against makeup. She's against new clothes. But she's a Hollywood starlet whose job it is to mask herself in makeup and couture. Fri, 21 Mar 2014 09:09:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 21313 at http://wuis.org From Action Hero To Teenage Nerd, Shailene Woodley Has Range Scott Asheton, Drummer For The Stooges, Dies At 64 http://wuis.org/post/scott-asheton-drummer-stooges-dies-64 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WRuN2ayttsY</p> Mon, 17 Mar 2014 21:52:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 21069 at http://wuis.org Scott Asheton, Drummer For The Stooges, Dies At 64 Forget Nancy Drew: Thanks To Fans, 'Veronica Mars' Is Back On The Case http://wuis.org/post/forget-nancy-drew-thanks-fans-veronica-mars-back-case When Rob Thomas created <em>Veronica Mars</em>, his show about a sharp-elbowed girl detective, he had an ulterior motive: He wanted to kill off the reigning queen of teenaged sleuths — one who's been around for more than 80 years.<p>"Nancy Drew," Thomas says, his soft-spoken affect barely betrayed by a trace of a snarl. "Like, I feel like <em>she had her run</em>."<p>Thomas gently eases himself into a faux leather couch backstage at <em>Last Call With Carson Daly</em>, where he's just wrapped up an interview with the host. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 07:26:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 20833 at http://wuis.org Forget Nancy Drew: Thanks To Fans, 'Veronica Mars' Is Back On The Case A Picket Line At The Oscars: Visual-Effects Artists To Protest http://wuis.org/post/picket-line-oscars-visual-effects-artists-protest Hundreds of visual-effects artists are planning to picket the Academy Awards on Sunday for the second year in a row. They're hoping to bring attention to what's been happening in their industry.<p>The field is losing jobs and relocating to countries with bigger subsidies for employers. It's the result of a technical revolution that's changed the profession since it kicked off in the 70s with Star Wars creator George Lucas' visual-effects company, Industrial Light and Magic.<p>At first, visual effects was mostly engineers creating special effects with cameras, high-speed motors and models. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 19998 at http://wuis.org Oscar Glow, Today's Tech Help Short Films Find Their Fandom http://wuis.org/post/oscar-glow-todays-tech-help-short-films-find-their-fandom <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3PUqY6HI20</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lLnrn9Nw1iM</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sw965Xye8Rk</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrXHcQyixTE</p> Fri, 28 Feb 2014 08:19:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 19897 at http://wuis.org Oscar Glow, Today's Tech Help Short Films Find Their Fandom Hard To Watch '12 Years A Slave'? Try Editing It http://wuis.org/post/hard-watch-try-editing-12-years-slave A lot of people believe <em>12 Years A Slave</em> is the best film yet made about slavery in the United States. That doesn't make it easy to watch.<p>It also wasn't easy to edit.<p>"Editing is like a massive, 5,000-piece jigsaw puzzle," says director Steve McQueen. He's just arrived from Europe and is relaxing in a suite in a swanky West Hollywood hotel with the film's editor, Joe Walker.<p>Walker edited McQueen's previous feature films, <em>Hunger</em> and <em>Shame.</em> The two share a taste for experimentation. Walker was trained as a classical composer; McQueen comes from the art world. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 21:12:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 19224 at http://wuis.org Hard To Watch '12 Years A Slave'? Try Editing It Getting 'Dallas Buyers Club' Made Took Tenacity And 'Will' http://wuis.org/post/getting-dallas-buyers-club-made-took-tenacity-and-will <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hs1kpGNSRVk</p> Tue, 18 Feb 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 19172 at http://wuis.org Getting 'Dallas Buyers Club' Made Took Tenacity And 'Will' A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition http://wuis.org/post/baby-didnt-bump-these-moms-out-competition Let's be clear: Olympians handle the physical challenges of childbirth differently than most of the rest of us.<p>Aretha Thurmond is a discus thrower who'd already competed in two Olympics when she went to the hospital in labor.<p>"So I get there and they're like, 'Yeah, whatever, you're 4 centimeters dilated. Go walk around the hospital and come back,' " she says.<p>Thurmond's hospital was part of a university, so she headed straight for its track, where she power-walked for the next two hours. Thu, 23 Jan 2014 23:44:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 17523 at http://wuis.org A Baby Didn't Bump These Moms Out Of Competition The Few, The Fervent: Fans Of 'Supernatural' Redefine TV Success http://wuis.org/post/few-fervent-fans-supernatural-redefine-tv-success How do you measure love?<p>OK, it's a huge question. And maybe not one generally applied to television. But the metrics of success determine whether a television show lives or dies. (If this is the sort of topic that seems frivolous, consider the billions of dollars TV and other copyright industries contribute to the U.S. economy. The stakes start feeling higher.)<p>And this is why we're looking at the CW show <em>Supernatural</em>. Unlike a massively popular scripted TV show like <em>The Big Bang Theory</em> or <em>The Walking Dead,</em> it has only about 3 million viewers. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 22:34:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 17007 at http://wuis.org The Few, The Fervent: Fans Of 'Supernatural' Redefine TV Success Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful http://wuis.org/post/amiri-baraka-poet-and-co-founder-black-arts-movement-dies-79 One of America's most important — and controversial — literary figures, Amiri Baraka, died on Thursday from complications after surgery following a long illness, according to his oldest son. Baraka was 79.<p>Baraka co-founded the Black Arts Movement of the 1960s. His literary legacy is as complicated as the times he lived through, from his childhood — where he recalled not being allowed to enter a segregated library — to the 2001 attack on the World Trade Center. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:16:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 16630 at http://wuis.org Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful Kung Fu Icon Dies at 106 http://wuis.org/post/kung-fu-icon-dies-106 Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. When you think of Asian cinema, flying swordsmen likely come to mind and flashy stunts. And that's because of one of the world's most influential film producers, Sir Run Run Shaw. Over half a century, he created a studio that spawned the Kung Fu genre and helped modernize the Asian film industry.<p>Shaw died Tuesday in Hong Kong at the age of 106. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 22:39:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 16481 at http://wuis.org How A Hip-Hop Remix Helped Make 'Cruise' The Year's Biggest Country Hit http://wuis.org/post/how-hip-hop-remix-helped-make-cruise-years-biggest-country-hit <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8PvebsWcpto</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmZ9xRO7M9M</p> Fri, 27 Dec 2013 16:29:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 15812 at http://wuis.org How A Hip-Hop Remix Helped Make 'Cruise' The Year's Biggest Country Hit Quiet As Kept, Women Dominated Country Music In 2013 http://wuis.org/post/quiet-kept-women-dominated-country-music-2013 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=plPRmANJF_w</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GZfj2Ir3GgQ</p> Thu, 26 Dec 2013 21:44:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 15775 at http://wuis.org Quiet As Kept, Women Dominated Country Music In 2013 A YouTube Powerhouse Looks Beyond Its Gamer Base http://wuis.org/post/youtube-powerhouse-looks-beyond-its-gamer-base One of the most popular channels on YouTube is aimed toward people who play video games. It's got tons of content — thousands of game reviews, how-to videos of people gaming away enthusiastically, even little homemade movies that people have made using video-game software.<p>That last format is a user-generated phenomenon called machinima — "little m" machinima. "Big M" Machinima is a company, and it wants to be a new media empire. Mon, 23 Dec 2013 21:18:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 15602 at http://wuis.org A YouTube Powerhouse Looks Beyond Its Gamer Base The 'Anchorman' Legend Continues, And It's Everywhere http://wuis.org/post/anchorman-legend-continues-and-its-everywhere <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uetalQpXwUI</p> Thu, 05 Dec 2013 22:31:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 14401 at http://wuis.org The 'Anchorman' Legend Continues, And It's Everywhere Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters http://wuis.org/post/hollywoods-new-strategy-supporting-chinese-made-blockbusters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqZb1bUKJQ0</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 07:55:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 13698 at http://wuis.org Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters Neflix To Stream Original Series Based On Marvel Characters http://wuis.org/post/neflix-stream-original-series-based-marvel-characters Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>It was a wham, boom, pow kind of an announcement from Netflix. Fri, 08 Nov 2013 09:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 12603 at http://wuis.org Most Remaining Blockbusters To Close In January http://wuis.org/post/most-remaining-blockbusters-close-january Blockbuster is going to shut all of its company-owned stores. Some franchise stores will stay open. At its peak, the video rental chain had about 9,000 stores. Thu, 07 Nov 2013 09:54:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 12511 at http://wuis.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies http://wuis.org/post/lou-reed-beloved-contrarian-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffr0opfm6I4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaWSOlASWc</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2013 19:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 11810 at http://wuis.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies New Cable Channels Try To Lure Millennials Back To TV http://wuis.org/post/new-cable-channels-try-lure-millennials-back-tv Transcript <p>STEVE INSKEEP, HOST: <p>OK, three brand-new cable channels all share the same problem. How do you persuade 20-somethings to look up from their phones long enough to gaze at an old-fashioned, regular TV? Mon, 21 Oct 2013 08:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 11339 at http://wuis.org Canada's Alice Munro Awarded Nobel In Literature http://wuis.org/post/canadas-alice-munro-awarded-nobel-literature Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And finally this hour, we celebrate the 110th winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature, Alice Munro. She is the 13th woman to win the award. The Canadian writer was hailed by the Swedish academy as a master of the contemporary short story. Over her career, Munro has written 14 story collections and one novel. Thu, 10 Oct 2013 21:12:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 10694 at http://wuis.org 'Trophy Wife' Is More Than Just A Pretty Face On ABC http://wuis.org/post/trophy-wife-more-just-pretty-face-abc One of the strongest new sitcoms on TV this season has the worst name, but its title, <em>Trophy Wife</em>, was intended to be ironic. The show's creators, Sarah Haskins and Emily Halpern, are self-professed feminists who wanted to take on a type generally scorned in popular culture.<p>The show's eponymous character, Kate, is a reformed party girl trying to find her place in a family that includes a much older husband, Pete, his two ex-wives and three kids. When Kate inadvertently breaks Pete's nose, the situation is expertly handled by ex No. Tue, 24 Sep 2013 23:05:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 9585 at http://wuis.org 'Trophy Wife' Is More Than Just A Pretty Face On ABC The Man Who Gets The Science Right On 'The Big Bang Theory' http://wuis.org/post/man-who-gets-science-right-big-bang-theory Sure, Bob Newhart may have won his first Emmy for guest-starring as Professor Proton on the hugely popular show <em>The Big Bang Theory</em>, about four young scientists at Caltech. But behind the scenes is a real-life professor, David Saltzberg of UCLA.<p>Saltzberg studies high-energy particle physics and high-energy neutrino astronomy, using radio-detection techniques when he's not working as <em>The Big Bang Theory</em>'s science consultant.<p>"It's just like a physics lab!" Saltzberg exclaims as he maneuvers around the show's sprawling set. "You have to watch where you walk. Mon, 23 Sep 2013 07:34:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 9436 at http://wuis.org The Man Who Gets The Science Right On 'The Big Bang Theory' What The $@** Is Up On Cable These Days? http://wuis.org/post/what-cable-these-days Seriously, if you were being attacked by zombies, you might yell out the word f- - -! But no one does on <em>The Walking Dead.</em> When it comes to language in this golden age of basic cable dramas, the rules are idiosyncratic and unclear.<p>"It's so arbitrary, hon," says Kurt Sutter. Tue, 10 Sep 2013 21:18:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 8672 at http://wuis.org What The $@** Is Up On Cable These Days? Awaiting The Apocalypse In The Quiet Town Of Concord http://wuis.org/post/awaiting-apocalypse-quiet-town-concord No place seems safe these days from someone's terrifying, post-apocalyptic imaginings. Los Angeles is wrecked in the movie <em><em>Elysium, </em></em>the South is zombie-ridden in TV's <em><em>The Walking Dead, </em></em>and now— thanks to writer Ben Winters — even the quiet streets of Concord are at risk of annihilation.<p>But it's hard to imagine anywhere <em>less</em> apocalyptic than the Corner View Restaurant in Concord, N.H. Thu, 22 Aug 2013 06:58:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 7668 at http://wuis.org Awaiting The Apocalypse In The Quiet Town Of Concord For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging http://wuis.org/post/you-borrow-some-libraries-have-go-begging More than 90 percent of Americans say public libraries are important to their communities, according to the Pew Research Center. But the way that love translates into actual financial support varies hugely from state to state.<p>Vermont, for instance, brags that it has more libraries per capita than any other U.S. state. Some of them are remarkably quaint. In Ludlow, one library is a white clapboard Victorian, slightly frayed, ringed by lilies and sitting by the side of a brook.<p>"It's very small," says Julia Baldwin, a volunteer with the local Ladies' Aid society. Mon, 19 Aug 2013 07:07:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 7480 at http://wuis.org For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging