Oliver Wang http://wuis.org en Gimme The Beat (Box): The Journey Of The Drum Machine http://wuis.org/post/gimme-beat-box-journey-drum-machine About 10 years ago, a disgruntled pianist in Los Angeles named John Wood began a popular bumper sticker campaign with the slogan, "Drum Machines Have No Soul." Not everyone was convinced, including producer Eric Sadler.<p>"Drum machines don't run themselves," Sadler says. "It's the people who put into the drum machines that give the drum machines soul, to me. Fri, 17 Jan 2014 05:02:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 17122 at http://wuis.org Gimme The Beat (Box): The Journey Of The Drum Machine 20 Years Ago, De La Soul Refused To Go Pop http://wuis.org/post/20-years-ago-de-la-soul-refused-go-pop <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1B1-naHt1aA</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FJEzEDMqXQQ</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-r774KpYtso</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Svw1b--jKCE</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=udSjNOZ26o8</p> Mon, 30 Dec 2013 05:03:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 15927 at http://wuis.org 20 Years Ago, De La Soul Refused To Go Pop The Poets Of Rhythm: A Troop Of German James Browns http://wuis.org/post/poets-rhythm-troop-german-james-browns <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_YmfieMkQE</p> Fri, 18 Oct 2013 20:38:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 11243 at http://wuis.org The Poets Of Rhythm: A Troop Of German James Browns Kanye's 'Yeezus' Packs A Bite http://wuis.org/post/kanyes-yeezus-packs-bite <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuhl6Ji5zHM</p> Tue, 18 Jun 2013 17:42:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 4475 at http://wuis.org Kanye's 'Yeezus' Packs A Bite Shuggie Otis: 40 Years Later, Still An 'Inspiration' http://wuis.org/post/shuggie-otis-40-years-later-still-inspiration This isn't the first time Shuggie Otis' masterpiece, <em>Inspiration Information</em>,<em> </em>has been reissued — but that's OK. It's an album that absolutely deserves to be rediscovered every decade or so.<p>Released nearly 40 years ago, the album became Otis' most acclaimed work, and also his last official release: Otis continued to work and play with other musicians, but a follow-up album has never materialized. Tue, 04 Jun 2013 20:25:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 3750 at http://wuis.org Shuggie Otis: 40 Years Later, Still An 'Inspiration' Laura Mvula's Velvet 'Moon' Is A Revelation http://wuis.org/post/laura-mvulas-velvet-moon-revelation <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5akYnlwubDo</p> Wed, 15 May 2013 19:09:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 2717 at http://wuis.org Laura Mvula's Velvet 'Moon' Is A Revelation On Two New R&B Albums, An Old Soul Sound That Glows http://wuis.org/post/two-new-rb-albums-old-soul-sound-glows It's tempting to describe the voices of <a href="http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CDEQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.npr.org%2Fartists%2F175953068%2Fcharles-bradley&ei=hKGKUcPSDoHS0wGysYHIBg&usg=AFQjCNEFFZh9Evg82Y5_BRqDD--JgZLDLg&sig2=LecmfRom7iKxHytW80GH0Q&bvm=bv.46226182,d.dmQ" target="_blank">Charles Bradley</a> and <a href="http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CC4QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.npr.org%2Fartists%2F15006878%2Fjames-hunter&ei=m6GKUc_CCYnp0gHn8oHQBQ&usg=AFQjCNE5dgsPqdHWo9sp3ARLmhjoNq6wCA&sig2=75gruGzqgBcQ Wed, 08 May 2013 20:14:00 +0000 Oliver Wang 2366 at http://wuis.org On Two New R&B Albums, An Old Soul Sound That Glows