Xponential http://wuis.org en Robbie Fulks: Exhilarating And Bitter On 'Gone Away Backward' http://wuis.org/post/robbie-fulks-exhilarating-and-bitter-gone-away-backward <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15664998/robbie-fulks">Robbie Fulks</a> has been recording since the mid-'90s, making music that's difficult to categorize. He's written country songs about how compromised most country music is, and while he's fond of folk and bluegrass, he pleases concert audiences with covers of hits by Michael Jackson and Cher. Thu, 19 Sep 2013 15:16:00 +0000 Ken Tucker 9212 at http://wuis.org Robbie Fulks: Exhilarating And Bitter On 'Gone Away Backward' New Mix: Beck, Best Coast, Joanna Gruesome, More http://wuis.org/post/new-mix-beck-best-coast-joanna-gruesome-more On this edition of <em>All Songs Considered</em>, hosts Bob Boilen and Robin Hilton share a brand new song from <a href="http://www.npr.org/artists/15333650/beck">Beck</a>. The new cut, called "Gimme," is the third single he's released since June and by far the strangest (i.e., best) of the bunch. Tue, 17 Sep 2013 15:00:00 +0000 Robin Hilton 9023 at http://wuis.org New Mix: Beck, Best Coast, Joanna Gruesome, More First Listen: Elvis Costello & The Roots, 'Wise Up Ghost' http://wuis.org/post/first-listen-elvis-costello-roots-wise-ghost The new documentary <em>Muscle Shoals</em> recalls how interracial harmony in tumultuous times made possible a new kind of music. Leading African-American artists traveled to North Alabama — not exactly a place they thought they'd be welcome in the civil rights era — to jam with an all-white crew of session players. In little rooms near the wide Tennessee River, they perfected soul and anticipated Southern rock. Mon, 16 Sep 2013 15:48:45 +0000 Ann Powers 8954 at http://wuis.org First Listen: Elvis Costello & The Roots, 'Wise Up Ghost' Heavy Rotation: 10 Songs Public Radio Can't Stop Playing http://wuis.org/post/heavy-rotation-10-songs-public-radio-cant-stop-playing-2 Our September edition of Heavy Rotation features an African legend, an indie-folk orchestra from Portland, and a French band ready to catch on in America. Wed, 11 Sep 2013 07:30:00 +0000 editor 8687 at http://wuis.org Heavy Rotation: 10 Songs Public Radio Can't Stop Playing Bedrock 66 Saturday Night: Rosie Flores And Marti Brom http://wuis.org/post/bedrock-66-saturday-night-rosie-flores-and-marti-brom <p>Rosie Flores brings her rockabilly style to the Hoogland Center for the Arts Saturday night.&nbsp; She and Marti Brom will be on stage in the next Bedrock 66 Live music event.&nbsp; This show will be a tribute to Janis Martin, also known as the &quot;Female Elvis.&quot;</p><p>WUIS&#39; Sean Burns interviewed Flores about her music background and the latest project:</p><p>The show begins at 8 p.m. Saturday and<a href="http://www.hcfta.org/"> tickets are available.</a></p> Fri, 06 Sep 2013 13:15:00 +0000 Sean Burns 8343 at http://wuis.org Bedrock 66 Saturday Night: Rosie Flores And Marti Brom Rosie Flores' "Female Elvis" Project Plays Springfield 9/7 http://wuis.org/post/rosie-flores-female-elvis-project-plays-springfield-97 <p>Rosie Flores started a Kickstarter&nbsp;project in 2011 to record, "The Female Elvis," Janis Martin. &nbsp;Martin died shortly after the sessions. &nbsp;Flores completed the project and has now released the recording. &nbsp;Flores has partnered with Marti Brom&nbsp;in a rockabilly tribute to Martin. &nbsp;They will play WUIS' Bedrock 66 Live Saturday, September 7 at 8 p.m. &nbsp;</p><p>Tickets are available at 217-523-2787 or <a href="http://bit.ly/14AYYOz" target="_blank">purchase them online from the Hoogland Center for the Arts</a>.</p> Thu, 29 Aug 2013 23:32:09 +0000 Randy Eccles 8096 at http://wuis.org Rosie Flores' "Female Elvis" Project Plays Springfield 9/7 Marshall Crenshaw + Bottle Rockets http://wuis.org/post/marshall-crenshaw-bottle-rockets <p></p> Thu, 06 Jun 2013 18:07:07 +0000 Rachel Otwell 3864 at http://wuis.org Marshall Crenshaw + Bottle Rockets JP Harris & The Tough Choices http://wuis.org/post/jp-harris-tough-choices <p></p> Fri, 17 May 2013 14:49:37 +0000 Rachel Otwell 2827 at http://wuis.org JP Harris & The Tough Choices Davina And The Vagabonds: Piano Licks, Vocal Tricks http://wuis.org/post/davina-and-vagabonds-piano-licks-vocal-tricks Davina Sowers' classically trained right fingers shimmy down the piano keys and meet up with an insistent boogie-woogie bass. Then she reveals her other musical talent: a sassy, salty, sweet voice that's childlike at the top, husky at the bottom.<p>The song is "lipstickandchrome," named for the tube of ruby-red that Sowers never leaves home without and the mirror on her roadster where she checks her makeup. Fri, 26 Apr 2013 18:14:40 +0000 Marc Silver 1764 at http://wuis.org Davina And The Vagabonds: Piano Licks, Vocal Tricks Janis Martin, 'The Female Elvis,' Returns http://wuis.org/post/janis-martin-female-elvis-returns Janis Martin was just a teenager from Virginia when she was christened "The Female Elvis." In the mid-1950s, she sold 750,000 copies of a song called "<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAqRtshU0P4" target="_blank">Will You, Willyum</a>." She played the Grand Ole Opry, <em>American Bandstand</em> and <em>The Tonight Show</em>. But her fame was short-lived. Martin got married and had a baby, which didn't sit so well with the people managing her career. Sun, 30 Sep 2012 13:28:00 +0000 NPR Staff 7877 at http://wuis.org Janis Martin, 'The Female Elvis,' Returns